Federal CIOs Introduce Uncle Sam’s List

it-infrastructure-and-cloudFederal Chief Information Officer (CIO) Councils launched Uncle Sam’s List, an online shared-services catalog that lists services in three categories. These categories include commodity IT services, support services, and mission services.

Commodity IT consists of IT infrastructure and enterprise IT services. Support services include budgeting, financial, human resources, and property and acquisition management. Meanwhile, mission services address core governmental functions such as disaster response, national defense, and food safety. Access to the online catalog requires registration and a password.

The CIO Council advises managers charged with implementing shared services of the importance of getting executive buy-in. Without that commitment, identifying the areas to be migrated to shared services and implementing the organizational changes required to succeed “will be prohibitively difficult.”

Read more of this story at Information Week.

Sabrina Keith
About Sabrina Keith 108 Articles
Sabrina finished a pre-law degree from an American learning institution. She has written several articles concerning constitutional law.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.